Books by Michelle Cox

 

Michelle Cox is the author of the multiple award-winning Henrietta and Inspector Howard series as well as “Novel Notes of Local Lore,” a weekly blog dedicated to Chicago’s forgotten residents.  She suspects she may have once lived in the 1930s and, having yet to discover a handy time machine lying around, has resorted to writing about the era as a way of getting herself back there. 

 

Coincidentally, her books have been praised by Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist and many others, so she might be on to something.  Unbeknownst to most, Michelle hoards board games she doesn’t have time to play and is, not surprisingly, addicted to period dramas and big band music.

For more information: http://michellecoxauthor.com/about-michelle-cox/

Rights available for:

 

A Girl Like You HR.jpeg
A Girl Like You.jpeg
A Ring of Truth.jpg
A Promise Given.jpg
A Veil Removed.jpg
A Child Lost - Michelle Cox

Praise for A Child Lost:

'Michelle Cox‘s Henrietta and Inspector Howard series is a delightful mix of historical fiction and intrigue with a bit of saucy lovemaking tossed in. In A Child Lost, the fifth book, she adds spooky. Right away, we're swept into the story . . .' - Book Trib

'Once again, Cox delivers the passion and intrigue of Henrietta and Clive with a story that leaps right off the page. A Child Lost is a true thrill . . .' - Paperback Paris

'...vivid descriptive prose and historical accuracy.' - Publishers Weekly

Praise for A Girl Like You:

'Michelle Cox masterfully recreates 1930s Chicago, bringing to life its diverse neighborhoods and eclectic residents, as well as its seedy side. Henrietta and Inspector Howard are the best pair of sleuths I’ve come across in ages - Cox makes us care not just about the case, but about her characters. A fantastic start to what is sure to be a long-running series.' - Tasha Alexander, New York Times best-selling author of The Adventuress

'Fans of spunky, historical heroines will love Henrietta Von Harmon.' - Booklist starred review

“Flavored with 1930s slang and fashion, this first volume in what one hopes will be a long series is absorbing. Henrietta and Clive are a sexy, endearing, and downright fun pair of sleuths. Readers will not see the final twist coming.” - Library Journal starred review

Praise for A Ring of Truth:

'An engaging and effective romp rich with historical details.' - Kirkus Reviews

 

'There’s a lot to love about the bloodhound couple at the center of this cozy mystery.' - Foreword Reviews

'Set in the 1930s, this romantic mystery combines the teetering elegance of Downton Abbey and the staid traditions of Pride and Prejudice with a bit of spunk and determination that suggest Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs.' - Booklist

'The second book of this mystery series is laced with fiery romance so delicious every reader will struggle to put it down. If you devoured Pride and Prejudice, this love story will get your heart beating just as fast.' - Redbook, “20 Books By Women You Must Read This Spring”

'Henrietta and Inspector Howard make a charming odd couple in A Ring of Truth, mixing mystery and romance in a fizzy 1930s cocktail.' - Hallie Ephron, New York Times bestselling author of Night Night, Sleep Tight

Praise for A Promise Given:

'Cox’s eye for historical detail remains sharp. . . . A pleasant, escapist diversion.' - Kirkus Reviews

'Series fans will cheer the beginning of Clive and Henrietta’s private investigation business in an entry with welcome echoes of Pride and Prejudice.' - Publishers Weekly

'Enjoyable, escapist read with some truths to savor.' - Historical Novel Society

'Fans of Henrietta and Inspector Howard will delight in Michelle Cox’s latest novel. Romantic and atmospheric, A Promise Given offers an intriguing glimpse in 1930’s Chicago, by weaving in authentic period details and exploring the social tensions of the day. The unlikely pairing of the Howards - two characters from very different worlds - provides a tender love story.' - Susanna Calkins, award-winning author of the Lucy Campion Historical Mysteries

Praise for A Veil Removed:

2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards: Finalist in Romance

2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards: Finalist in Series

'Entertaining . . . composed of large dollops of romance and a soupçon of mystery, this confection will appeal!' - Publishers Weekly

 

KvK nr.:  60491833

VAT nr: NL002160634B54

Copyright Blackbird Literary Agency© - Made by Yve-Design