I Ching
The Book of Changes – A New

Interpretation translated from Chinese with Commentary

By Han Boering

The I Ching is one of the oldest books in World Literature. It is regarded as an oracle and as a book of wisdom. Its origins lie in mystical antiquity and, according to Chinese tradition, it already existed in its initial form as far back as 3000 BC.


Increasing numbers of people in the West are starting to work with the Book of Changes as a oracle. Since the 1960’s, the book has enjoyed increasing popularity outside China. How does the I Ching work as an oracle? It does this by answering questions. The user of the book carefully formulates a question. Then, through the intervention of chance, he ‘draws’ an oracle. This points him to a number of texts from the I Ching.


The Book of Changes consists of 64 chapters, each represented by a sign consisting of 6 horizontal lines, one above the other. These lines are either complete or broken. In the west they are called hexagrams. Each hexagram is accompanied by two texts: the Judgement and the Image. These texts explain how to view the situation en how best to act. You can deduce from these texts what you should and should not do in the period concerned.


You can use the Book of Changes at any time that is convenient to you. Even if you do not use it regularly, it will always give you answers. But with regular use, it will not only make your life’s path clearer, it will also increase your self-knowledge. Regular use will make clear to you the stronger and weaker aspects of your character and your habit patterns.



Additional Information:

4th edition 2011 (Dutch) - Part English translation

ISBN: 9789021550077 – 546 pages - b/w illustr. - Hardback

World Rights Available

Han Boering (1943) has been a student of the I Ching since he was very young. He is the author of several books on the I Ching. He also gives workshops and lectures about the subject.


KvK nr.:  60491833

VAT nr: NL002160634B54

Copyright Blackbird Literary Agency© - Made by Yve-Design